Georgia Gwinnett Sweeps NAIA Titles; NCAA DII and DIII Team Play Finishes with Repeat and New Winners

Georgia Gwinnett Sweeps NAIA Titles; NCAA DII and DIII Team Play Finishes with Repeat and New Winners

3 min read

The Division I NCAA Championships wrapped up team play on Sunday with Texas winning the women’s event and Virginia taking home the men’s trophy. The DI individual tournaments are still going on (and you can watch the live stream on TennisONE). But the NCAA DII and DIII as well as the NAIA team winners have been decided, and it's time to take a closer look.

Georgia Gwinnett Continues Dominance in NAIA

Georgia Gwinnett College captured the men’s and women’s team NAIA titles on Sunday in Mobile, Ala. The Georgia Gwinnett men’s team (Power 6 UTR 75.05) scored a 4-1 win over Keiser University (72.27) to win its eighth straight NAIA title. After securing the doubles point, Georgia Gwinnett won singles matches at the No. 3, No. 2, and No. 5 positions. All five of the team’s seniors played a role in the victory.

The Grizzlies finish the season 21-0, extending the program’s win streak to 168 matches. Head coach Chase Hodges has guided the men’s program to a 210-3 record across 10 seasons. Hodges is also the women's head coach.



The Georgia Gwinnett women’s team (56.16) was the top seed and capped off an unbeaten 17-0 season record by beating Keiser University (52.45), 4-0. The title is the Grizzlies’ sixth NAIA championship in a row, and seventh overall. They only gave up a point once (in their season-opening match in January).

On Sunday against the Hawks, the Grizzlies won the doubles point before senior Maria Genovese finished her career by winning 6-0, 6-0 at No. 1. The Grizzlies scored another win at No. 2 singles before Iryna Lysykh clinched the title at No. 4.

Barry Wins Both DII Titles

Barry University swept the men’s and women’s team titles in Altamonte Springs, Fla. Barry men’s tennis (73.40) defeated Wayne State (69.90) 4-1 on Sunday to win its third championship title in a row. Barry ends the season with a 22-5 record and the program has now won six NCA titles since 2010.

The Buccaneers started the final by winning the doubles point, and then scoring singles wins at No. 2 singles thanks to Alejandro Gallego’s straight-set win. Wayne State got on the scoreboard at No. 4 singles. It would be the final point for the Warriors as Arnau Rodriguez extended Barry’s lead to 3-1 with a win at No. 5. Alessandro Giuliato clinched the trophy at No. 3 with a 6-2, 7-5 win.



Barry women’s tennis (57.54) took out Central Oklahoma (48.69) to win the program’s seventh NCAA DII championship and fifth in a row. Barry dropped the doubles point (for just the second time this season) before winning four singles matches. Madeline Bosnjak clinched the trophy at No. 4 singles with a 6-2, 6-2 win over Grace Chadick.

Chicago and Claremont Mudd Scripps win DIII Titles

In the DIII men’s final, the University of Chicago (69.29) downed Case Western Reserve University (69.67) on Wednesday to win its first-ever NCAA team title. The Maroons won the doubles point and dropped one singles match at No. 2 before Christian Alshon clinched the title at No. 1 with a three-set victory over James Hopper. Chicago was the No. 1 seed and finish the 2022 season with a dominant 22-1 record.

In the DIII women’s final, Claremont Mudd Scripps (51.93) upset top-seeded Chicago (51.47) late on Sunday, winning two out of three of the doubles matches as well as singles matches at No. 6 and No. 5. No. 4 Ella Brissett secured the title for the Athenas by beating Nicole Geller in straight sets. It marks Claremont Mudd Scripps' second national title since 2018.

Download TennisONE for the full live-streaming schedule, brackets, results, and more of the DI individual and doubles tournaments from May 23-28.




Back to blog